Pay It Forward

AmericanPsychoBook odd-thomas-book-cover-01

Recently I was having a discussion with someone about novels. I mentioned that my two favourites of all time are American Psycho by Bret Easton Ellis and Odd Thomas by Dean Koontz. Each story is unique in its own way with both authors having such a varied writing style, but both had an enormous impact on me at the time of reading them.

The reasons behind my loving these novels didn’t come to mind at the time of the conversation, instead I remembered back to when I read American Psycho for the first time. It was over 15 years ago and I was working in a nightclub cloak room. Most nights I’d be sitting around not doing too much and the other staff, in particular the glassies, would often stop by for a chat. One of the glassies who I became good friends with mentioned he had just finished reading American Psycho and was happy to let me borrow it to read. So I did. Once I finished I went to give it back to him and he wouldn’t take it as he borrowed it from a bartender who had since left the business. He had no need for it so he let me keep it.

Fast forward a month or two and I’m chatting with a different glassie at the same club one night at work. The topic of American Psycho came up again and I ended up giving her the book to read. When she finished I told her to keep it after relaying the story of how I obtained it. So she did.

I hope she passed that book onto someone else and kept the cycle going. It’s such a simple way to pay a nice gesture forward.

Leave a Reply

